Day Four -1st August 2012

Four days already? Gosh.

Today’s post is a bit late because I’ve been on the blog on my laptop for the first time trying to sort the admin stuff out. Thanks to everyone who has been reading and commenting. I don’t peck!

All the chickens are in bed as usual.

There was a cat on the roof of the run late last night, didn’t do any damage and wasn’t doing much, just sitting there.

Today everyone is doing well, they seem to be nicer to each other now. One of the BR’s has developed the wattle so that’s good. On the pictures you’ll see their feet, this is because I read that a cockerel’s spur is thicker than a hen’s, and I think one of the BR’s is.

Olivia eats from my hand! Although I use my fingerless optional gloves as anti-pecking gloves.

Cookie needs to get much more comfortable with being stroked, I think one-on-one time would be beneficial.

Gave them cut up spaghetti which was gone after a few hours.

Sabrina is nicer to everyone in general. She still isn’t sure but was close to eating out of my hand and letting me stroke her.

Barely used the spray bottle today. I was more relaxed with it today but still much less pecking.

Conan was the last one in after the three BR’s.

I have realised that two of the BR’s won’t peck me when I go to stroke them. Will probably get different coloured leg rings for them so I know which ones are nice to me lol

We’re thinking about extending their space, another metre and/or electric fencing. Would we need a roof for this too? I don’t know.

Lots of media for you today.

20120801-212728.jpg

20120801-212738.jpg

20120801-212745.jpg

20120801-212800.jpg

20120801-212806.jpg

20120801-212814.jpg

20120801-212823.jpg

20120801-212832.jpg

20120801-212842.jpg

20120801-212850.jpg

20120801-212901.jpg

Have a good night!

About katesklucks

I am living in the English suburbs with two dogs, a cat and six chickens!
This entry was posted in chickens and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Day Four -1st August 2012

  1. Looks like you’re having fun Kate — a cute idea for a blog too, well done!

    One tip/question: I couldn’t get any of the videos to work. Have you tried hosting them on YouTube? That’s what we do with the MyFarm videos and then WordPress lets you post them directly into blog posts, without using up any of your allocated space.

  2. Great – the videos are much easier to access now. PhotoBucket was asking me to download/save them for some reason… very odd. KateKlucks goes from strength to strength. Keep it up!

Feel free

